The Devil Wears an Attitude.

1

Image from The Empress of Dress.

So The Devil Wears Prada firmly poised itself on my television screen for the hundredth time the other night and I had that horrible urge again to bitch and moan, unable to refrain from asking two very important questions:

1. Why is it okay for people to assume that everyone in the fashion industry is like that?

2. Why is nearly everyone in the fashion industry like that?

In this day and age (because I’m obviously 82 years old) why is this deemed a normal behaviour in such an industry which I feel needs all the support from colleagues as possible. A fresh pair of eyes can change even a magazine edit entirely for instance, dramatically. Working together in the fashion industry is just as important as working alone, especially for a physical publication.

So, why does fashion instantly correlate socially with a bitchy, unsociable atmosphere? Firstly let me disclaim here however, and state that I am fully aware it isn’t like this in every single work place, I’m talking about the stereotype. The almost joked about perception of males and females in the industry. I feel like things need to change, I’d like to know if I’m simply over reacting or if I am actually on to something here (for once).

In the film, Fashion Editor Miranda Priestly treats her two assistants (one to be Andy) as demeaning servants while she saunters along to fashion shows and meetings with designers, cantankerous expression unnecessarily prominent throughout. Andy (the beaut that is Anne Hathaway) is an aspiring journalist, and looks at this as a chance to cease a challenging but professional opportunity. Although less than half an hour in, she’s changed her appearance dramatically, with the message ‘If you don’t wear a size 4 designer gown with matching heels you’ll get absolutely nowhere’  And don’t even get me started on her newly found angst-y teen attitude. If I know anything I know that a positive attitude in this industry is key people, key. Then she wonders why her boyfriend, friends and family hardly recognise the person she has become. In my mind, although the end shows she made a mistake to quickly become so aesthetically engrossed, there seems to be no real message, resulting in a majority of the audience believing the industry is completely like that.

My predicament is that this will carry on, and that people will act the way they think they should, and that worries me something silly. I’m not saying you have to be BFFL’s with everyone you meet, heck you don’t even have to like them if you really don’t want to. But we should be civil and have enough respect for ourselves and each other to work together, not make eachother dread the career we worked so hard to achieve.

I’ll stop now as I’m starting to feel like the girl from Mean Girls that ‘Doesn’t even go here.’ (Read: You should really know what I’m referencing..)

Follow/Tweet me on Twitter – @jnnrflknr

2 thoughts on “The Devil Wears an Attitude.

Leave a Reply

